DAY FOUR – Sarah Lotz

Day 4

Available 21st May 2015 from Hodder & Stoughton

Source: Publisher ARC

Four planes. Three survivors. One message. It seemed like the end of the world… but it wasn’t. This, however, just might be.

The extraordinary, unforgettable sequel to THE THREE – perfect for fans of The Shining Girls, The Passage and Lost.

Four days into a five day singles cruise on the Gulf of Mexico, the ageing ship Beautiful Dreamer stops dead in the water. With no electricity and no cellular signals, the passengers and crew have no way to call for help. But everyone is certain that rescue teams will come looking for them soon. All they have to do is wait.

That is, until the toilets stop working and the food begins to run out. When the body of a woman is discovered in her cabin the passengers start to panic. There’s a murderer on board the Beautiful Dreamer… and maybe something worse.

I was so very excited when I received Day Four. After thoroughly enjoying Lotz’s first novel The Three (see review here) I couldn’t wait to find out what happened next…

Well I’m sorry to say I was disappointed. But this may be wholly down to my own expectations. As a ‘follow-on’ I’d expected just that – but in fact this was a completely separate story (so works as a standalone), although with the same underlying premise.

Naturally it was difficult not to compare the two novels. The style and formats are completely different. The Three is set retrospectively – based on witness accounts of some very strange goings-on; whereas Day Four has a more ‘real-time’ setting. Unfortunately this meant there was an awful lot of building up to events, it really took a long time to get going.

I was eager to find out what was going on in The Three – I was impatient to find out what was going on in Day Four.

I dipped in and out a lot. And it wasn’t until I was about ¾ of the way through that I felt the book having any sort of effect on me. And granted, it did get quite creepy and unsettling (not nearly as much as its predecessor) – but I just felt that I was way too late to the party, and by this point I struggled to care.

I found it interesting that the only part of the book I really enjoyed were the witness statements at the end – I suppose for their similarity to the format of The Three. But like I said, these came at the end…

I didn’t really get any closure for either of the stories. Both raised the same questions and gave the same elusive answers – and I thought as a follow-on I might have been given a bit more.

Ultimately, if any reader were to approach this with the expectation of it being merely an instalment in a series, then they may well enjoy it. I needed a bit more. For me, it definitely suffered from ‘sequel-itis’.

The Three felt very Stephen King meets J.J Abrams; Day Four felt more like Tales from the Crypt meets Doctor Who.

My thanks to the publisher for providing this book for review.

Happy reading x 

1 Comment

Filed under Reviews

One response to “DAY FOUR – Sarah Lotz

  1. Kay

    I’ve been wanting to read THE THREE – think I read your review recently. Anyway, I wonder if you’re right about this being #2 in a series or trilogy something and setting the stage for further events. For me, oftentimes, I tend to wait until the next book after that is published (#3) and then the disappointment isn’t so great.

    It always brings to mind my feelings when I saw the middle movie of the Star Wars trilogy – the first trilogy or first filmed. It was The Empire Strikes Back. And, of course, we didn’t know as much about what was to come all those many years ago as we do now. We walked out of the theater saying, “What? That was it?”. LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

